Oulton, Norfolk Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Aylsham|
|Parish registers: 1706|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
OULTON (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Aylsham. There is a place of worship for Independents
Oulton Saints Peter and St Paul with Irmingland near Aylsham is an ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.
It is not to be confused with Oulton St Michael, Suffolk also in the Diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk
Oulton is a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of Broadland.
Oulton, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|Oulton, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
This parish does not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film and have now been published online.
Archdeacons transcripts held at Norfolk Record Office
|Baptisms 1600-1607, 1623, 1633, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1607, 1633, 1671-1812 Burials 1600-1606, 1623, 1633, 1665-1811|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526780 Item 11
If your search lies ouside the years of the transcripts you will need to contact the Norfolk Record Office who hold the deposited records for the parish under their reference PD 431 For those unable to visit the Norfolk Record Office in person a research service is available (fee payable).
Non Conformist Churches
Congregational Chapel, from 1731 Births and baptisms, 1725-1837 Public Record Office, London.
RG-4 series no. 1262 Independent Church (Oulton)
|Births and baptisms, 1725-1837|| FHL BRITISH Film |
825334 Item 2
Methodist Chapel in Oulton Street.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.
Poor Law Unions
- Norfolk: Oulton on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 491-495. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.