Ovansjö parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ovansjö parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngGävleborg County Gotoarrow.pngOvansjö parish


Guide to Ovansjö parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

1622 broke off Högbo (Sandviken) parish from Övansjö,
1862 Järbo parish broke off from Övansjö parish.


Ovansjö
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift
Pastorat Before Ovansjö and Årsunda, from 1500's Ovansjö, 1622-1862 Ovansjö and Högbo (Sandviken), 1862-1869 Ovansjö, Högbo and Järbo, 1869- Ovansjö
Län -1762 Västernorrland, 1762- Gävleborg,
Landskap Gästrikland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1693 Ovansjö, 1693-1725 Ovansjö och Torsåker, 1725-1879 Ovansjö, Torsåker och Årsunda, 1880-1920 Gästriklands västra, 1921-1970 Gästriklands västra domsagas
Domsaga -1920 Gästrikland, 1921-1970 Gästriklands västra, 1971-Sandvikens tingsrätts
Fögderi -1917 Gästrikland
Länsmansdistrikt Ovansjö
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun 1863-1970 Ovansjö, 1971- Sandviken
Militär indelning Helsinge Regementet
Ofvansjö Kompani,
Nya Ordin. Soldat-Roteringen,
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
FamilySearch I.D. 2056841
NAD Ref Code SE/HLA/1010151


Place Names

Backberg, Botjärn, Bro,
Djupdal,
Fattigstugan, Finnäs,
Garveriet, Gavelhyttan, Gropen, Grundsjön,
Hagarbo, Hammarby, Hammarby bruk, Hammarby kronhammare, Hammarby Näs, Hillsta, Hosjön,
Järbo, Järbo ytterby, Järbo överby,
Kalltjärn, Komministergård, Koppartjärn,Kungsberg, Kungsfors bruk, Kungsgårder, Kådfallet,
Lem, Lemstanäs, Lillvik, Ljugars, Lugnet, Lundfors, Lövåker,
Mom,
Nor, Nordanå, Norrberg, Nygården, Nyåker, Näs,
Pellas, Piparbo, Prästgården,
Sandbacka, Sandåsen, See, Seljan, Skogsbo, Sockenstugan och Gropen, Spjutmuren, Stenbäcken, Stocksbo, Storbodarna, Storvik, Sund, Sunnanå, Sätra,
Urfors,
Vall, Vallbo, Vattan, Vreten, Västerberg,
Yttermyra,
Åkerbo, Åsbacka, Åsen, Åshammar, Återvall, Åttesta,
Österberg, Övermyra.



To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Gävleborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Gävleborg" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Ovansjö parish, AI:14a and AI:14b, Husförhörslängd 1836-1840, Ort register.

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Ovansjö Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2015 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/