Overhalla (Ranem), Nord-Trøndelag, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Overhalla (Ranem), Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngNord-Trøndelag County Gotoarrow.pngOverhalla

Guide to Overhalla, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Church Records

Overhalla clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Overhalla (Ranem) and Skage. It included Sævik (Klinga) of Fosnes clerical district from 1819 to 1865, Grong, Høylandet and Harran until 1820 and Namsos until 1865.

In 1860 Sævik (Klinga) parish was divided with the district north of Bjørumselva and Namsenfjorden becoming a new parish called Vemundvik. After this division Overhalla was also divided and now had Ranem (Overhalla) and Skage parishes and a new clerical district was made and called Namsos with Namsos parish and the annexes Vemundvik and Sævik (Klinga).

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1745-1901.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Overhalla: 1745-1816, 1824-1880

Grong: 1816-1825

Overhalla / Harran: 1706-1748, 1758-1765, 1816-1825

Overhalla / Høylandet: 1706-1748, 1758-1765, 1817-1851

Overhalla / Klinga: 1819-1823

Overhalla / Ranem: 1758-1765, 1816-1824, 1881-1896

Overhalla / Skage: 1817-1823, 1881-1899

Fosnes / Sævik: 1815-1818

Fosnes / Klinga: 1689-1697, 1815-1824

Namsos: 1836-1931

Grong / Grong: 1821-1879

Grong / Høylandet: 1821-1879

Grong / Harran: 1821-1879

Census Records

1664-1666 Census for Overhallacan be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. (Usually only males from the age of 12, but in some cases all males from birth have been listed). There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

NAMDALEN PROSTI I. b. 34 Overhallen (Overhalla) prestegjeld Grong sogn Vies; Bjørnes; Hildrem Skjelbred (Ranem) anneks Gantzmo (Skage) anneks Hunde; Hammer Hølandet anneks Family History Library INTL Film 122976 Item 1
NAMDALEN PROSTI II. b. 34a Transcription of the priest's census for Overhalla prestegjeld Family History Library INTL Film 122976 Item 2 Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. (Usually only males over the age of 12, but sometimes all males from birth are listed). The clerical authorities took a census during this samt peroid. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

NAMDALEN FOGDERI b. 19 Overhallen (Overhalla) clerical district Family History Library INTL Film 122981 Item 2. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

1701 Census for Overhalla includes Overhalla and Namdalseid. It can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. It can be found as a database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

1801 Census The 1801 census for Overhalla clerical district includes Overhalla, Skage, Grong, Høylandet, Harran, and Namsos parishes. Microfilmed copies of the records are available at the Family History Library. A database is available at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

1865 Census The 1865 census for Overhalla clerical district includes Overhalla and Skage. Microfilmed copies of the records are available at the Family History Library. A database is available at Digitalarkivet.

1875 Census The 1875 census for Overhalla clerical district includes Overhalla and Skage. Microfilmed copies of the records are available at the Family History Library. A database is available at Digitalarkivet.

1900 Census The 1900 census for Overhalla clerical district includes Overhalla and Skage. Microfilmed copies of the records are available at the Family History Library. A database is available at Digitalarkivet.

1910 Census for Overhalla

The census of 1865, 1875 (partial), 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

49 Amdal lille 52 Amdal store 42 Ballien 72 Bertnem 53 Bjørnes 71 Engstad 58 Flasnes 70 Foss 61 Fuglaar 62 Fuglem 57 Gløimem 75 Grandaunet 69 Grande 44 Haugum 77 Heglem 43 Hildrem 50 Himo 66 Hundsmoen 74 Katmoen 41 Klapdal 73 Klykken 80 Lestem 84 Lilleberge 56 Lysberge 68 Melhus 79 Møklegaarden 45 Ranem 59 Risvik 65 Roem 60 Røtesmoen 37 Skei 83 Skistad 78 Skjelbred 55 Skjørland 63 Skomo 51 Solem 76 Steine 82 Storem 48 Svaliaunet 47 Svalien 46 Svenning 40 Tødaasen 38 Veglo 36 Vibstad 67 Vold 81 Øie

Probate Records

1656-1863: Probates are found in Namdal judicial district.

1703-1815: Clerical probates are found in Namdal Deanery

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names