Overton, Wiltshire Genealogy
Guide to Overton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Elstub and Everley; Selkey|
|Poor Law Union||Marlborough|
|Registration District||Marlborough; Pewsey|
|Parish registers: 1682|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
OVERTON (St. Michaels), a village in Marlborough district, and a parish partly also in Pewsey district in the county of Wiltshire (Wilts). It is located in the union of Marlborough, partly in the hundred of Elstub and Everley, but chiefly in that of Selkley, Marlborough and Ramsbury. The parish comprises the township of West Overton and the Tything of Lockeridge, in Marlborough district and the chapelry of Alton-Priors, and Overton-Heath and Clatford-Park. The village stands on the river Kennet, 4 miles SW of Marlborough Railway Station.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Overton, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Overton, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464201.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 498-500. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
- 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 January 2014.
- 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.