Owlpen, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Owlpen, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Owlpen, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Owlpen, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Berkeley
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Dursley
Registration District Dursley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1677
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dursley
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

OWLPEN, a parish, in the union of Dursley,Upper division of the hundred of Berkeley, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 3¾ miles (E.) from Dursley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Owlpen, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[7]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
OWLPEN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1753 1613-1753 1613-1812 1613-1812
AC 1813-1891 1813-1891 1755-1938 1755-1938 1813-1971 1813-1971
BOYD
1687-1837

FHSO 1800-1836
FREG 1700-1800 1687-1897 1700-1800
JOIN 1697-1837
PALL
1790-1807

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288761.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A,, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 500-503. Date accessed: 07 January 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 16 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  6. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  8. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' Joiner's Marriage Index, accessed 29 January 2014.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.