Oxford Christ Church, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Oxford Christ Church, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Christ Church (Latin: Ædes Christi, the temple or house (ædēs) of Christ, and thus sometimes known as The House), is one of the largest constituent colleges of the University of Oxford in England. As well as being a college, Christ Church is also the cathedral church of the diocese of Oxford, namely Christ Church Cathedral, Oxford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Oxford Christ Church, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free[3]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Oxford Christ Church, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1751-1754

FSBOOK 1633-1786 (pages 198-200); 1787-1884 (pages 215-218)
1642-1754, 1865-1875 (pages 236-237, 251-254, 268-271)
1639-1882 (pages 143-146, 288-295)
OFHS 1558-1911
1615-1922
1616-1941


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christ_Church,_Oxford
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 21 January 2014.
  3. Granville Leveson Gower, 'The Register Booke of Christ Church in Oxford of All that have been Christened, Maried, and Buried Since the Year of Our Lord 1633,' in Joseph Jackson Howard, ed., Miscellanea Genealogical et Heraldica, 2nd Ser., Vol. 1 (1886):143-146, 288-295; Vol. 2 (1888):198-200, 215-218, 236-237, 251-254, 268-271. Digitised by FamilySearch Books - free: Vol. 1 and Vol. 2.
  4. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 21 January 2014.