Oxford St John the Baptist, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Oxford St John the Baptist, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Oxford St John the Baptist, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oxford
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Headington
Registration District Headington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oxford
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

Oxford St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish in the county of Oxfordshire. Other places in the parish include: Corpus Christi College, St Alban Hall, and Merton College. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474572.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference