Packington, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Packington, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Part of this parish is in Derbyshire. See also Packington, Derbyshire.


Packington, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley; West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union de la Zouch
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1677
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Guide to Packington, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

PACKINGTON (Holy Rood), a parish, in the union of Ashby, partly in the hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, but chiefly in the hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 1½ mile (S. by E.) from Ashby; containing the chapelry of Snibston. [1]

Packington is an ancient parish mostly in Leicestershire (West Goscote Hundred) and partly in Derbyshire (Repton and Gresley Hundred).[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Packington, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[3]
Packington, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1677-1910
1677-1910
1677-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438745.


Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 525-530. Date accessed: 13 September 2012.
  2. Youngs, Frederic A. Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Vol. 2; Northern England. Offices of Royal Historical Society, London: 1991.
  3. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.