Pakefield, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pakefield, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Pakefield
Pakefield, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

PAKEFIELD (All Saints), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 2¼ miles (S. S. W.) from Lowestoft.[1] 

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to Pakefield and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Pakefield is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. For further details refer to the Suffolk Civil Registration article. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records

Pakefield, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Pakefield, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1879
1754-1911
1813-1901
FS PRs Undefined 1680-1900 Undefined 1680-1911 Undefined 1680-1879
JOIN
1813-1837

NBI

1813-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

FamilySearch

https://www.familysearch.org/s/image/show#uri=https%3A//api.familysearch.org/records/waypoint/652644

provides unindexed but printable and copyable "as filmed" records of christenings, marriages and burials (plus some banns) of the Pakefield parish records. These records are part of the "NORFOLK PARISH RECORD SET", which is a slightly incorrect description for what are actually "NORFOLK and some SUFFOLK PARISH RECORDS" held at NORWICH and as such contain a number of SUFFOLK parish records.

Local Record Office

The local record office is at Lowestoft (Pakefield is a suburb of Lowestoft) and this holds parish records, transcribed and indexed, In addition it holds a unique collection of Fishing records (Crew Contracts) plus an excellent range of photographs of fishing boats etc. The staff are experts on Lowestoft and Pakefield and are always helpful, often being able to recommend an additional source of research. Practical resources include an in house cafe plus adjacent or rooftop parking. A visit is recommended as there is so much information, mainly available on a self service basis, from shelves and filing cabinets, which includes local parish records, census and newspapers. For more recent research try the extensive range of Kelly's street directories.

For location see

http://www.bing.com/maps/?where1=NR321DR,GB&lvl=16&FORM=MMREDR

For services available see

http://www.suffolk.gov.uk/LeisureAndCulture/LocalHistoryAndHeritage/SuffolkRecordOffice/Wheretofindus.htm

Census records

There are census records available for Pakefield from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Pakefield Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 525-530. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

The following link is to the Norfolk Parish LDS FamilySearch records, which include some suffolk ones

https://www.familysearch.org/s/image/show#uri=https%3A//familysearch.org/recapi/sord/collection/1416598/waypoints


The following link is to a web site set up by David Mantripp (1950-2003)

which includes an extensive treasure trove of useful and interesting information and pictures on Pakefield people, buildings and records (church and civil) of value and interest to anyone having ancestors from Pakefield, Thank you David !

http://www.adsmt.btinternet.co.uk/pakefield/


The following link provides pictures of the Pakefield World War One memorial, together with a list of those named on it

http://www.adsmt.btinternet.co.uk/pakefield/memorial.htm