Panama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Panama)
Jump to: navigation, search

Central America Gotoarrow.png Panama

Panama Wiki Topics
Panama Flag.PNG
Beginning Research
Record Types
Panama Background
Local Research Resources
The FamilySearch moderator for Panama is Dwsmith2

Guide to Panama ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records

Country Information

Panama is a country in Central America bordered by Costa Rica and Colombia. It was formerly a colony of Spain and, after its independence from Spain in 1821, a department of Colombia until 1903. The official language is Spanish.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Panama Research

Links to articles on getting started with Panama research.

Panama Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Panama research.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



  • Bocas del Toro
  • Chiriqui
  • Cocle
  • Colon
  • Darien
  • Herrera
  • Los Santos
  • Panama
  • Panama Oesta
  • Veraguas

Provincial Territories

  • Embera
  • Guna Yala
  • Ngobe-Bugle

Sub-Provincial Territories

  • Madugandí (within Panamá province)
  • Wargandí (within Darién province)

Panama Map

Bocas del ToroChiriquiNgabe-BugleVeraguasHerreraLos SantosColonCoclePanama OestePanamaMadugandiMadugandiWargandiEmbera WounaanEmbera WounaanPanama provinces map.png
About this image

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Panama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 28 March 2016.