Pancrasweek, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pancrasweek, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Devon
Devon Parishes
Pancrasweek

Guide to Pancrasweek, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pancrasweek, Devon
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Black Torrington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Holsworthy
Registration District Holsworthy
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see Bradworthy
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holsworthy
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

PANCRASS WEEK or WYKE (St. Pancras), a parish, in the union of Holsworthy, hundred of Black Torrington, Holsworthy and N. divisions of Devon, 3 miles (W. by N.) from Holsworthy. containing 540 inhabitants. It comprises 3500 acres, of which 1500 are common or waste land. The river Tamar and the Bude canal pass through the parish. At Lana is the site of an ancient chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pancrasweek, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Pancrasweek, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1654-1837
1655-1684, 1696-1837


Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241327.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Pancrasweek on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 531-535. Date accessed: 26 July 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.