Pannal, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Pannal, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Knaresborough|
|Parish registers: 1585|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1632|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Honour of Knaresborough|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
PANNALL (St. Robert of Knaresborough), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York, 3½ miles (S.) from Harrogate, on the road to Leeds. There are places of worship for Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Pannal exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)|
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|PANNAL PARISH (1585) Online Records|
|| 1585-1847, 1895
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish was created before 1813, Church of England records began in 1585.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464251.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 531-535. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.