Papua New Guinea Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Papua New Guinea)
Jump to: navigation, search

Pacific Gotoarrow.png Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea Wiki Topics
Flag of Papua New Guinea.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Papua New Guinea Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Papua New Guinea ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Papua New Guinea is an island country in the Pacific Ocean bordered by Indonesia. The official languages are Hiri Motu, Tok Pisin, Papua New Guinean, Sign Language, and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Papua New Guinea Research

Links to articles on getting started with Papua New Guinea research.

Papua New Guinea Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Papua New Guinea research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Papua New Guinea Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Papua New Guinea.

Papua new guinea provinces (numbers) 2012.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Papua New Guinea. Provinces:

  1. Central
  2. Chimbu
  3. Eastern Highlands
  4. East New Britain
  5. East Sepik
  6. Enga
  7. Gulf
  8. Madang
  9. Manus
  10. Milne Bay
  11. Morobe
  12. New Ireland
  13. Northern
  14. Bougainville
  15. Southern Highlands
  16. Western
  17. Western Highlands
  18. West New Britain
  19. West Sepik (Sandaun)
  20. National Capital
  21. Hela
  22. Jiwaka

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Papua New Guinea," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Papua_New_Guinea, accessed 25 April 2016.