Papworth Agnes, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Papworth Agnes, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Papworth Agnes, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Caxton|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
PAPWORTH ST. AGNES (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Caxton and Arrington, partly in the hundred of Toseland, county of Huntingdon, but chiefly in that of Papworth, county of Cambridge, 4 miles (S. S. E.) from Huntingdon.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Papworth Agnes, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Papworth Agnes, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
The Anglican church is St. John the Baptist.
Parish Registers are available from 1558-1878
Bishop Transcripts, available from 1599-1841 on FHL Film # 2358003 Items 5-6, have been digitised.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241224.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Papworth Agnes on GENUKI