Park County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Park County, Montana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Park County

Guide to Park County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Livingston
Organized: February 23, 1887
Parent County(s): Gallatin[1]
Neighboring Counties
Carbon  • Gallatin  • Meagher  • Park (WY)  • Stillwater  • Sweet Grass
See County Maps
Courthouse
MontanaParkCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Park County.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

The County Seat is Livingston and the year Park County was organized was 1887. A small part of Yellowstone National Park is located in the extreme southern part of the county.[2] Park County was named due to its proximity to Yellowstone National Park.[3]

County Courthouse

Park County Courthouse
414 E Callender Street
Livingston, MT 59047-2799
Phone: 406.222.4110
Park County Website

County Clerk has birth, death and land records from 1907;
Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records[4]

Park County, Montana Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1889*
1887*
1892*
1887
1887
1887
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes


Parent County: created 23 February 1887 from Gallatin
County seat: Livingston [5]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county.[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Park County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 6,881
1900 7,341 6.7%
1910 10,731 46.2%
1920 11,330 5.6%
1930 10,922 −3.6%
1940 11,566 5.9%
1950 11,999 3.7%
1960 13,168 9.7%
1970 11,197 −15.0%
1980 12,869 14.9%
1990 14,562 13.2%
2000 15,694 7.8%
2010 15,636 −0.4%
Source: [1]

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Montana starting in 1870. For links to Federal census indexes, see Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Livingston

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Park County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Park County

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Park County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Park - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Livingston Heritage Ctr
200 W Park St
Livingston 59047-2629

Societies

Park County Genealogy Society
The Society holds monthly meetings the 4th Tuesday of each month from 7-9 p.m. during the months of September through May in the conference room at the Livingston Public Library
Livingston~Park County Public Library
228 W. Callender
Livingston, Montana

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/mon/park/ accessed 11/22/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Park_County,_Montana accessed 11/22/2016
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 417.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Park County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Park_County%2C_Montana#Communities, accessed ? Dec 2016.