Park County, Wyoming Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Park County, Wyoming)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Wyoming Gotoarrow.png Park County

Guide to Park County, Wyoming ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

Park County was created on February 15, 1909. The county seat is Cody. [1] The County is the north central area of the state. The county was named for Yellowstone National Park.[2]

County Courthouse

Park County Courthouse
1002 Sheridan Avenue
PO Box 160
Cody, WY 82414
Phone: 307.587.5548
Park County Website

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1911. Court Clerk has divorce, probate and court records.[3]

Park County, Wyoming Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
----*
1911*
----*
1911
1911
1911
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: created 15 February 1909 from Big Horn
  • County seat:Cody [4]
For animated maps illustrating Wyoming County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wyoming County Boundary Maps" (1848-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[5]

Cities
Towns
  • Badger Basin
  • Bannock Ford
  • Buffalo Ford
  • Devils Den
  • Sunshine
  • Tower Junction
  • Vocation
Villages
  • Canyon Junction
  • Canyon Village
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Ghost towns



{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Cody
Organized: February 15, 1909
Parent County(s): Big Horn[6]
Neighboring Counties
Big Horn  • Carbon (MT)  • Fremont  • Gallatin (MT)  • Hot Springs  • Park (MT)  • Teton  • Washakie
See County Maps
Courthouse
Park County Courthouse Cody, Wyoming.jpg
Location Map
Wy-park.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Park County, Wyoming online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in
Print
(Often
more complete
)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wyoming Cemeteries for more information

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 4,909
1920 7,298 48.7%
1930 8,207 12.5%
1940 10,976 33.7%
1950 15,182 38.3%
1960 16,874 11.1%
1970 17,752 5.2%
1980 21,639 21.9%
1990 23,178 7.1%
2000 25,786 11.3%
2010 28,205 9.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org"

State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Wyoming starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see Wyoming Census.

For tips on accessing Park County, Wyoming Genealogy census records online, see: Wyoming Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.

LDS ward and branches

  • Cody

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Online Land Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wyoming Land and Property for additional information about early Wyoming land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Park County, Wyoming Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Wyoming Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Wypark.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Civil War
No known military units were raised specifically from Wyoming as it did not become a state until 1890. However men from the territories that became Wyoming fought in other units during the Civil War.

World War I

For further information see Wyoming Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Wyoming Newspapers Online

Wyoming Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Park - Probate records.

School Records

Tax Records

Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also How to order Wyoming Vital Records, order electronically online $ or download an application for Wyoming Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Birth

Marriage


Death

  • Wyoming Death Index at Wyoming State Archives — index (currently contains only A-E, it is a work in progress)


Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. http://genealogytrails.com/wyo/park/ accessed 11/14/2016
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Park_County,_Wyoming accessed 11/14/2016
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 767. Park County, Wyoming
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Park County, Wyoming," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Park_County,_Wyoming#Communities accessed 28 November 2016.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).