Park Leys, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Park Leyes, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Park Leys, Nottinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
PARK-LEYS, an extra-parochial tract in Southwell district, Notts; 4¾ miles N W by N of Newark.
PARK-LEYS, an extra-parochial district, in the N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham; containing 10 inhabitants. In 1848 it consisted of one farm.
Neither of these gazetteers had much to say about Park-Leys.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Park Leys is an extra parochial area.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Park Leys
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..