Parwich, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to , Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parwich St Peter Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Ashbourne|
|Parish registers: 1640|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1676|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parwich, St. Peter, an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1791 from a chapelry in Ashbourne with Mapleton, Derbyshire Ecclesiastical Parish. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parwich parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Parwich St Peter (1640) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1859-1881
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1676-1855 Mar 1676-1835 Burials 1676-1857
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Parwich on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 535-537. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.