Patney, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Patney, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Patney

Guide to Patney, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Patney, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elstub and Everley
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Devizes
Registration District Devizes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Potterne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

PATNEY (St. Swithin), a parish, forming a distinct portion of the hundred of Elstub and Everley,in the union of Devizes, Devizes and N. divisions of Wiltshire, 5 miles (E. S. E.) from Devizes.It is located by the river Avon, and on the Mid-Wilts railway, 3 miles W by S of Woodborough railway station[1] [2][3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Patney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
PATNEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1592-1812
1594-1840

FMP 1500s-1800s
FREG
1594-1812

JOIN
1594-1810

NBI

1592-1837
NIM 1592-1986
1594-1837
1592-1982
TGEN
1594-1812

Census records

The 1841 Census returns for Patney are missing.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 220986.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 537-540. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  2. From: 'Passenham - Patton', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 537-540. British HistoryDate accessed: 09 October 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  4. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  5. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  6. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  7. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  8. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  10. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.