Pebworth, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pebworth, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Pebworth, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pebworth, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kiftsgate
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Evesham
Registration District Evesham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1594
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

PEBWORTH (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Evesham, Upper division of the hundred of Kiftsgate, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 6¼ miles ( W.) from Chipping-Campden. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pebworth, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][2][4]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[6]
Pebworth, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1613-1813 1613-1813 1613-1813 1613-1813 1613-1813 1613-1813
AC 1813-1871 1813-1871 1813-1871 1813-1871 1813-1871 1813-1871

IARC 1595-1700

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288772.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 540-542. Date accessed: 07 January 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813', Ancestry, accessed 16 June 2016. Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "pr" defined multiple times with different content
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  5. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. 'The Parish Register of Pebworth: Marriages, 1595-1700,' in Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 1 (1881):274-279, 443-445. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.