Pelton, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Pelton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Pelto Holy Trinity Co Durham
|Poor Law Union||Chester le Street|
|Registration District||Chester le Street|
|Parish registers: 1842|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Chester le Street|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
PELTON, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish and union of Chester-le-Street, Middle division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 2 miles (W. by N.) from Chester-le-Street; Independents and Methodists have each a place of worship.
Additional information: Pelton was created as a parish within the ancient parish of Chester-le-Street in 1842. it includes Edmondesley,Ouston, part of Holmside and Urpeth.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/204 1845-1870 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Chester-le-Street are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-
- Birtley 1850-1994 (EP/Bir).
- Burnmoor 1868-1987 (EP/Bu).
- Fatfield 1876-1992 (EP/Fa).
- Pelton 1842-1992 (EP/Pe).
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Churches
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241348.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Pelton (see Chester le Street) on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.