Pembina County, North Dakota Genealogy
Guide to Pembina County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
Pembina County was formed on August 12, 1867. The county seat is Cavalier. The name "Pembina" is derived from the Chippewa Indian term for high bush cranberry which grew in abundance along the Pembina River.
Pembina County Courthouse
301 Dakota St W #6
Cavalier, ND 58220
Pembina County Website
District Court Clerk has birth and death records from 1893, marriage records from 1882, divorce, court, and probate records from 1883, military records from 1945, and burial records from 1943;
Register of Deeds has land records.
Pembina County, North Dakota Record Dates
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|1867--Pembina County was created 9 January 1867 from unorganized territory.|
County seat: Cavalier 
The following are locations in the county
American Indian reservations
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
State Census Records
- 1885 Dakota Territory 1885 Census Index at NDSU Archives – index only
- 1885, 1915, 1925 North Dakota, Territorial and State Censuses, 1885, 1915, 1925 at Ancestry – ($), index and images
- 1915 North Dakota Census, 1915 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images
- 1925 North Dakota Census, 1925 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.
Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.
- Records of the Norwegian Lutheran Church, Drayton, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Thingvalla Lutheran Church (Icelandic)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861 - 1908 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry - ($), index and images
For more information see North Dakota Land and Property
Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Pembina County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.
- The Icelandic settlement of Pembina County, Johnson, Sveinbjorn
- City of Pembina history and links
- The Dakota Icelanders Project
- The Emigration from Iceland to North America
- Early history of Carlisle pioneers. 2001. By Allen Eastman. PubPl: PubCo. Online at:; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Fondly we remember : a history of Hamilton, Carlisle and Glasston communities. 1980. By fname lname. Grafton-Grand Forks, North Dakota : Associated Printers. Online at:; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Heritage '76; Pembina County, North Dakota, "Then and now", 1776-1976. 1975. By Pembina County Historical Society (Cavalier, North Dakota). Cavalier, North Dakota : Pembina County Historical Society. Online at:; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Heritage '89; Pembina County, North Dakota, "Then and now", 1889-1989. 1988. By Pembina County Historical Society (Cavalier, North Dakota). Cavalier, North Dakota : Pembina County Historical Society. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- A History of Pembina County. 1967. By Pembina Centennial Committee. [S.l.] : Pembina Centennial Committee. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- The Icelandic settlement of Pembina County. n.d. By Sveinbjorn Johnson. n.p.: n.p. Online at:.
- Pembina settlement heritage : a history of the Pembina, North Dakota area. 1976. By Pembina Settlement Heritage Book Committee. [Pembina] : Pembina Settlement Heritage Book Committee. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Proudly we speak; a history of Neche, Bathgate, Bruce and Hyde Park. 1974?. Neche, North Dakota : Neche/Bathgate History Book Committee. Online at:; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of North Dakota - shows boundary changes for North Dakota Counties
- North Dakota Maps at NDGenWeb -historical maps
- 1861 -1865 Dakota Territory Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.
- 1890 United States Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War, 1890 at FamilySearch.
World War I
- 1917 - 1918 North Dakota Military Men 1917-1918 at Ancestry ($)
- 1917 - 1918 Roster of the men and women who served in the army or naval service (including the Marine Corps) of the United States or its allies from the state of North Dakota in the World War, 1917-1918, Vols. 1-4 at Ancestry ($)
- For further information see North Dakota Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- North Dakota Naturalization Records Index at NDSU Archives – index only, covers various dates and counties
For more information see North Dakota Newspapers.
North Dakota Newspapers Online
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some North Dakota newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- State Historical Society of North Dakota - contains inventory and catalog of all known ND newspapers
Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1985 North Dakota and South Dakota Wills and Probate Records 1800-1985 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.
Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.
Online Death Indexes and Records
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
Pembina County Historical Society
13571 Hwy. 5
Cavalier, ND 58220
Telephone: 701-265-8196 or 701-265-4941
Fort Pembina Historical Society
163 Chippewa Street West
Pembina, ND 5827
Ox Cart Trails Historical Society Inc.
709 Dakota Court
Pembina, ND 58271-0456
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
- Pembina County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- http://genealogytrails.com/ndak/pembina/ accessed 09/29/2016
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pembina County, North Dakota. Page 525 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Pembina County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pembina_County,_North_Dakota, accessed 14 November 2016.
- "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.