Penboyr, Carmarthenshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Penboyr, Carmarthenshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngPenboyr

A guide to genealogy in Penboyr, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Penboyr is a small village and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

History

PENBOYR (PEN-BOYR), a parish, in the union of NEWCASTLE-EMLYN, higher division of the hundred of ELVET, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (S.E.) from Newcastle-Emlyn. This parish, which is situated in the north-western part of the county contains a large tract of arable and pasture land, inclosed and cultivated, the whole comprising 5600 acres, of which 3000 are arable, 2000 meadow or pasture, and 600 wood. The surface is hilly, in some parts mountainous, and in others picturesque. The crops chiefly consisting of wheat, barley, and oats; the prevailing timber is oak and ash. The church, dedicated to St. Llawddog, a very ancient building in a delapidated state, was taken down and rebuilt from the ground, in 1809. There is a chapel of ease in the parish, called Trinity Chapel in which service is performed. The churchyard is supposed to occupy part of the site of a Roman camp; a pot of Roman coins was found in the neighbourhood, and part of an ancient road and other traces of of Roman occupation have been found in the parish. The Calvinistic Methodists and the Independents have each a place of worship.[1]

For more information on Penboyr see Penboyr at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.