Penley, Wrexham

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Penley)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngWrexhamGotoarrow.pngPenley

A guide to genealogy in Penley, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Penley (Welsh: Llannerch Banna) is a village and ecclesiastical parish in the County Borough of Wrexham, Wales, close to the border with Shropshire, England. Penley is in the community of Maelor South.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern County Borough of Wrexham.

St Mary Magdalene, Penley

History

The village was until 1974 in an exclave of the historic county of Flintshire known as Maelor Saesneg (English: English-speaking Maelor), sometimes called "Flintshire Detached"

Penley was originally part of the neighbouring English parish of Ellesmere in Shropshire, but it became a separate parish towards the end of the Commonwealth period. In early 1661 it reverted to being part of the parish of Ellesmere until 1860, when it again became a separate parish.

The parish church of St. Mary Magdalene was originally built around 1538 as a chapel of ease to Ellesmere. The original timber structure was replaced by a brick one in 1793 but this was demolished in 1893. The current church was completed in 1899.

Penley remained part of the English Diocese of Lichfield until 1920 when, following the disestablishment of the Church in Wales, it was transferred to the Welsh Diocese of St Asaph.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire (detached)
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Wrexham

Records

Civil Records

Births, marriages and deaths in Penley are recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 1935 Overton Ellesmere XVIII (1837-51)
6a (1852-1935)

Church Records

The following Penley Parish Registers have been deposited at the Flintshire Records Office in Hawarden:

Baptisms: 1752-1812 & 1873-1968
Marriages: 1753 & 1867-1970
Burials: 1753-1923

However, the registers are not complete!

The following records are available on the IGI:

Type Years Batch Number
Baptisms 1813-1837 C035841
  • Bishop's Transcripts of the Penley registers are held at the Lichfield Record Office, Staffordshire, England: Bap 1663; 1752-1896 / Mar 1752-1812 / Bur 1752-1896 (but missing all events: 1850; 1864-1872.)

Nonconformist Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464323.


The parish of Overton formed part of the Ellesmere Registrar's District.

Year Parts
1841
1851
1861
1871
1881
1891
1901

Poor Law Union Records

Penley was part of the Ellesmere Union, which was created on 14 November 1836. The workhouse was built in Haughton, Ellesmere. The records for the Ellesmere Union are held at Shropshire Record Office in Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England.

Cemeteries

  • St. Mary Magdalene Church

Maps and Gazetteers

Bibliography

 

Web Sites