Penrith, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Penrith, Cumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Penrith, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Penrith, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leath
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Penrith
Registration District Penrith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Allerdale
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Parish History

PENRITH (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 18 miles (S. E. by S.) from Carlisle, and 283 (N. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Scottish Seceders.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Penrith, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Penrith, Cumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTs 1556-1812 1556-1812 1556-1812
PRTs 1556-1601 1556-1601 1556-1601

Record on microfilm

Parish registers for St. Andrew's Church, Penrith, 1556-1908

Parish registers for Christ Church, Penrith, 1850-1942

Bishop's transcripts for theparish of Penrith, 1644-1847

Bishop's transcripts for Christ Church ofPenrith, 1862-1879

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241284.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Penrith on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.