Penshaw, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Penshaw, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Penshaw, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Penshaw, Durham
Penshaw All Saints Co Durham.jpg
Penshaw All Saints Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Houghton le Spring
Registration District Houghton le Spring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

PAINSHAW, or Pensher, a township, in the parish and union of Houghton-le-Spring, N. division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham, 3 miles (N. by E.) from Houghton, There is a place of worship for Wesleyans in the village, and also in the hamlet of Shiney-Row.[1]

Additional information: Penshaw was created a parish in 1752 from chapelry in Houghton le Spring Ancient Parish and includes: Bournmoor, Murnmoor, South Biddick, Offerton, and Newbottle.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/205 Date:1762-1865 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1754-1994 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Pen).

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Penshaw are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  • Burnmoor 1868-1987 (EP/Bu).
    * Shiney Row 1910-1987 (EP/SR).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241354.


Genealogy From Periodicals

History of the family of Richard and Eleanor Short of Newham, in Northumberland. Family also came from Berwick on Tweed, and Penshaw in Durham. Article dated 1861-2005, and has a facsimilie of The Parade, Berwick, where one of the ancestors lived. Trainer is another surname mentioned. Article in The Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol. 31,no.1, pages6-7, Family History Library Reference. 942.8 B2jo v.31.no.1. Spring 2006.

Poor Law Unions

Houghton le Spring Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Penshaw on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., , A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.