Person County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Carolina
Person County

Guide to Person County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Person County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Person County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1791
County Seat Roxboro
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaPersonCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Person Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Person County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1913
1791
1800
1774
1792


Person County Courthouse
105 South Main St
Roxboro, NC 27573
Phone 336-503-5200

Register of Deeds
P.O. Box 209
Roxboro, NC 27573
Phone: 336-597-1733
Fax: 336-597-1733
Website

Clerk Superior Court
105 S Main Street
Roxboro, NC 27573
Phone: (336) 503-5200

History

Person was formed in 1791 from Caswell. The act was to become effective February 1, 1792. In 1792 the eastern four districts of Caswell County became Person County. It was named in honor of General Thomas Person, a Revolutionary Patriot, a member of the Council of Safety and a trustee of the University of North Carolina. He gave a large sum of money to the University, and a building was erected in his honor, which is called Person Hall. It is in the north central section of the State and is bounded by Granville, Durham, Orange and Caswell counties, and the State of Virginia. The present area is 390.87 square miles and the 1990 population was 30,180. In 1792 Pittman's was mentioned in an act as the place where the courthouse was to be established. In 1793 Roxboro was established as the courthouse and is now the county seat.

Parent County

1791--Person County was created from Caswell County.
County seat: Roxboro [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncperson.png

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Person County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church Records

Baptist
  • Flat River. Constituted 1777.[2]
  • Head of Mayo Creek. Constituted 1793.[2]
  • South Hico River Lower Church. Constituted 1793.[2]
  • South Hico River Upper Church. Constituted 1792.[2]

Court

Person County Clerk of Court's Office
Person County Courthouse
105 South Main St
Roxboro, NC 27573
Phone 336-503-5200

Ethnic and Religous Groups

Redford, Dorothy Spruill. As Long as You Call My Name, I Live: Somerset Place Slave Burial Register, 1785-1865.FHL 975.6165 V3r

Redford, Dorothy Spruill and Michael D'orso. Somerset Homecoming: Recovering a Lost Heritage. New York, New York : Doubleday, c 1988. FHL 929.273 L732r

Redford, Dorothy Spruill. Somerset's Slave Community: an Antebellum Genealogical Study. Portsmouth, Va.: D. S. Redford, 9C. 1986)

Land

Person County Register of Deeds Office
P. O. Box 209
21 Abbitt Street
Roxboro, NC 27573
Phone 336-597-1733

Website also includes online searchable database for deeds.

Register's office has copies of birth, marriage & death records as well as land records.

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Person County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Person County, North Carolina Genealogy:

- U.S. Colored Troops-Person County - list of soldiers from Person Co.
- 4th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain George F Fisher's Company
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain R S Davie's Company
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Some Person County Tax Lists are available in transcribed records online. Following are links to them:

Vital Records

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Libraries


Societies

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:567. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.