Peterborough (Cathedral), Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Northamptonshire
Northamptonshire Parishes
Peterborough (Cathedral)


Guide to Peterbough(Cathedral), Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Peterborough (Cathedral), Northamptonshire
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nassaburgh or Peterborough Liberty
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Not Applicable
Registration District Peterborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1615
Bishop's Transcripts: 1816
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

Peterborough, parl. and mun. bor. and city, partly in Huntingdonshire, but chiefly in Northamptonshire, on river Nen, at NW. boundary of Cambridgeshire, 43 miles NE. of Northampton and 76 N. of London by rail - mun. Peterborough was called Medehamstede by the Saxons until 970, and had its rise in the founding of a monastery (656), destroyed by the Danes in 870, and afterwards rebuilt. Upon its destruction by fire in 1116 the present cathedral was commenced, but was not completed till early in the 16th century. The cathedral is a noble edifice, its west front being unsurpassed by any other in the kingdom. A thorough restoration of the building was commenced in 1884.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Peterborough (Cathedral), Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
Peterborough (Cathedral), Northamptonshire Genealogy Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1816-1848 1816-1848 1816-1848 1816-1848

Peterborough St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Peterborough St Mark Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC PRs 1856-1912 1856-1912 1813-1868 1813-1868

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438883.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Genealogy

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew, fckLRGazetteer of the British Isles, (1887). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.