Petham with Waltham, Kent Genealogy
|England Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Petham with Waltham, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Petham with Waltham, Kent|
Petham All Saints Kent
|Hundred||Bridge and Petham|
|Poor Law Union||Bridge|
|Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Waltham beginning 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1564; Separate records exist for Waltham beginning 1567|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
Petham with Waltham was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1698 from the amalgamation of Petham Ancient parish and Waltham Ancient parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you. See also Wye benefice website
The church of All Saints is mediaeval 13th century but suffered seroius fire damage in 1922 and had to be restored.The Church of All Saints, Church Lane, Petham has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 310-319. Date accessed:12 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Petham All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Petham All Saints Parish Online Records|
Waltham St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Waltham St Bartholomew Parish Online Records|
Images for Petham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306863.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records) and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers
PETHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Bridge and Petham, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 6 miles (S. S. W.) from Canterbury. 
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-564. Date accessed: 27 April 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.