Pidley cum Fenton, Huntingdonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Huntingdonshire
Huntingdonshire Parishes
Pidley cum Fenton
Pidley cum Fenton, Huntingdonshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hurstingstone
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union St Ives
Registration District St Ives
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; For more records see Somersham
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Ives
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Pidley cum Fenton, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Pidley cum Fenton (All Saints), is a parish, in the union of St. Ives, and hundred of Hurstingstone, Huntingdonshire, 2 miles W N from Somersham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pidley cum Fenton, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Pidley cum Fenton, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HUNT

1558-1900
NBI

1558-1900

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288835.


Poor Law Unions

St Ives Poor Law Union, Huntingdonshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Pidley Cum Fenton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date accessed: 20 August 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.