Pierce County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pierce County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Pierce County

Pierce County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Pierce County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 26, 1856
County Seat Pierce
Courthouse
px
Address Pierce County Courthouse
111 W. Court Street, Room 1
Pierce, NE 68767
Phone: 402-329-4225


Pierce County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Pierce County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1879 1870 1856 1856


County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage, land and military records. Clerk District Court has divorce and naturalization records. County Court has probate records. Superintendent has school attendance records. [1]

History

Parent County

1856 Pierce County was created 26 January 1856 from Izard County and unorganized territory. County seat: Pierce [2]

Description

The county was formed in 1859 and named after President Franklin Pierce.[3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [4]

  • Breslau
  • Foster
  • Hadar
  • McLean
  • Osmond
  • Pierce
  • Plainview
  • Wee Town

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 152
1880 1,202 690.8%
1890 4,864 304.7%
1900 8,445 73.6%
1910 10,122 19.9%
1920 10,681 5.5%
1930 11,080 3.7%
1940 10,211 −7.8%
1950 9,405 −7.9%
1960 8,722 −7.3%
1970 8,493 −2.6%
1980 8,481 −0.1%
1990 7,827 −7.7%
2000 7,857 0.4%
2010 7,266 −7.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.


For tips on accessing Pierce County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Records of Hope Lutheran Church, McLean, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pierce County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nepierce.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Pierce - Probate records.

Online Probation Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

Libraries

  • Pierce Public Library
    207 West Court,
    Pierce, NE, USA
    Phone: 402-329-6442
    Fax: 402-329-6442
    e-mail: pplib@ptcnet.net
  • Lied Randolph Public Library
    111 N. Douglas
    P.O. Box 307
    Randolph, NE 68771
    Phone: 402-337-0046
    Email: librarian@rlibrary.org
    Director: Peggy Leiting
    Assistant Director: Julie Pfanstiel

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pierce County, Nebraska page 433, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pierce_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Pierce County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pierce_County,_Nebraska.