Pike County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pike County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Georgia go to Pike County

Guide to Pike County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Pike County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Pike County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 9, 1822
County Seat Zebulon
Courthouse
Address Pike County Courthouse]
PO Box 377
Zebulon, GA 30295-0377
Phone: 706.567.3406
Pike County Website


County Information

Pike County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Pike County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1822

1830
1823
1823


County Courthouse

Pike County Courthouse
PO Box 377
Zebulon, GA 30295-0377
Phone: 706.567.3406

Clerk Superior Court has court and land records from 1823[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
P.O. Box 10
16001 Barnesville St.
Zebulon, GA 30295
Phone: (770) 567-2000
Fax: (770) 567-2017

Probate Court of Pike County
P.O. Box 324
Zebulon, GA 30295
Phone: 770-567-8734

History

Parent County

1822--Pike County was created 9 December 1822 from Monroe County. County seat: Zebulon [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Lamar  • Meriwether  • Spalding  • Upson

Pike CountyUpson CountyMeriwether CountyTroup CountyHarris CountyTalbot CountyTaylor CountyCrawford CountyBibb CountyMonroe CountyLamar CountySpalding CountyButts CountyNewton CountyHenry CountyClayton CountyFayette CountyCarroll CountyCoweta CountyHeard CountyGAPike.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pike County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gapike.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Pike County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pike County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- 13th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Company A
- 13th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Hill, W. 1900. Pike County, Georgia, confederate volunteers. San Antonio, Texas: Family Adventures. (entire book) 975.8453 M2h
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Pike County). 1963. Roster of Confederate soldiers, no. 1, 1861-1865. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah film 325832 item 1
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Pike County). 1963. Confederate pension rolls, 1865, 1890-1959. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 325832 item 2-6

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Pike County Historical Society, Inc.
PO Box 700
Zebulon , GA 30295
Telephone Number: 770-567-8534
Website

Central Georgia Genealogial Society
Post Office Box 2024
Warner Robins, GA 31099
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pike County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 49. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.