Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Piscataquis County, Maine)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Piscataquis County

Guide to Piscataquis County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Piscataquis County, Maine
Map of Maine highlighting Piscataquis County
Location in the state of Maine
Founded March 23, 1838
County Seat Dover-Foxcroft
Address Piscataquis County Courthouse
51 E. Main Street
Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426
Phone: 207.564.2161
Piscataquis County Website

County Courthouse

  • Town clerks have birth, marriage and death records.
  • Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce and court records.
  • Probate Court has probate records.
  • Register of Deeds has land records.[1]


Parent County

Created 23 March 1838 from Penobscot and Somerset counties.[1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities


Plantations:  Kingsbury Plantation | Lake View Plantation. For further details see Maine plantations.

Extinct towns and plantations:[2]  Barnard | Blanchard | Chesuncook Plantation | Elliottsville | Katahdin Iron Works Plantation | Orneville | Williamsburg | Wilson[3]

Unorganized territories. NWP=North of Waldo Patent; WELS=West of the Easterly Line of the State. For further details see Maine townships.

  • Blanchard Township
  • Northeast Piscataquis
    • Twp 6 R8 NWP (Williamsburg)
    • Barnard Township
    • Township 4 R9 NWP
    • Twp 5 R9 NWP (Ebeemee)
    • Township 6 R9 NWP (Katahdin Iron Works)
    • Township 7 R9 NWP
    • Elliottsville Township
    • Township B R10 WELS
    • Township B R11 WELS
    • Township 7 R10 NWP (Bowdoin College East )
    • Township 8 R10 NWP (Bowdoin College West )
    • Township A R10 WELS
    • Township A R11 WELS
    • Twp A R12 WELS (Shawtown)
    • Township A R13 WELS (Frenchtown or Kakadjo)
    • Township 1 R9 WELS (Ambejejus Lake)
    • Township 1 R10 WELS
    • Township 1 R11 WELS
    • Township 1 R12 WELS
    • Township 1 R13 WELS
    • Township 2 R9 WELS
    • Township 2 R10 WELS
    • Twp 2 R11 WELS (Rainbow)
    • Township 2 R12 WELS
    • Twp 3 R9 WELS (Mt. Katahdin)
    • Township 3 R10 WELS
    • Township 3 R11 WELS
    • Township 4 R9 WELS
    • Township 4 R10 WELS
    • Township 4 R11 WELS
    • Township 5 R9 WELS
    • Township 5 R10 WELS (Nesourdnahunk)
    • Township 5 R11 WELS
    • Twp 6 R9 WELS (Trout Brook)
    • Township 6 R10 WELS
    • Township 6 R11 WELS
    • Township 7 R9 WELS
    • Township 7 R10 WELS
    • Township 7 R11 WELS
    • Township 8 R9 WELS
    • Township 8 R10 WELS
    • Township 8 R11 WELS
    • Township 9 R9 WELS
    • Township 9 R10 WELS
    • Township 9 R11 WELS
    • Township 10 R9 WELS
    • Township 10 R10 WELS
    • Township 10 R11 WELS
    • Township 10 R12 WELS
  • Northwest Piscataquis
    • Cove Point Township
    • Moosehead Junction Township
    • Harford's Point Township
    • Big Moose Township
    • Township A R14 WELS (Lily Bay)
    • Twp 1 R14 WELS (Spencer Bay)
    • Days Academy Grant Township
    • Kineo Island Township
    • Township 2 R13 WELS
    • Township X R14 WELS
    • East Middlesex Canal Grant Twp
    • Township 3 R12 WELS
    • Township 3 R13 WELS
    • Township 3 R14 WELS (Lobster)
    • Township 3 R15 WELS (Northeast Carry or Burbank)
    • Township 4 R12 WELS
    • Twp 4 R13 WELS (part of Chesuncook before 1921)
    • Township 4 R14 WELS
    • Township 4 R15 WELS
    • Township 5 R12 WELS
    • Twp 5 R13 WELS (Chesuncook)
    • Township 5 R14 WELS
    • Township 5 R15 WELS
    • Township 6 R12 WELS
    • Township 6 R13 WELS
    • Township 6 R14 WELS
    • Township 6 R15 WELS
    • Township 7 R12 WELS
    • Township 7 R13 WELS
    • Township 7 R14 WELS
    • Township R15 WELS
    • Twp 8 R12 WELS (Soper Mtn.)
    • Twp 8 R13 WELS (Eagle Lake)
    • Township 8 R14 WELS
    • Township 8 R15 WELS
    • Township 9 R12 WELS
    • Township 9 R13 WELS
    • Township 9 R14 WELS
    • Township 9 R15 WELS
    • Township 10 R13 WELS
    • Township 10 R14 WELS
    • Township 10 R15 WELS
  • Southeast Piscataquis

Communities   ▪ Guilford   ▪ Milo

Neighboring Counties:  Aroostook | Penobscot | Somerset



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
ME Interment
Billion Graves
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration



Local histories are available for Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.



Military Records

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Maine Infantry , Company D

Online Records



Finding More Maine Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Online Probate Records


Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181, and 305. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Before an extinct town was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  3. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 111. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.