Pitney, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pitney, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Pitney, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pitney, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pitney
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Langport
Registration District Langport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1623
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ilchester
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

PITNEY (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Langport, hundred of Pitney, W. division of Somerset, 3 miles (W.) from Somerton.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pitney, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS = FamilySearch - free[8]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[9]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[10]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[11]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[12]
PITNEY PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1623-1812 1623-1812 1623-1753 1623-1753 1623-1812 1623-1812

FREG 1623-1880





Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474602.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 573-576. Date accessed and adapted: 03 April 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  6. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  8. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  9. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  10. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  11. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.