Pittsburg County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pittsburgh County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Pittsburg County

Pittsburg County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Pittsburg County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat McAlester
Courthouse
OklahomaPittsburgCourthouse.jpg
Address Pittsburg County Courthouse
115 E Carl Albert Parkway
McAlester, OK 74501
Phone: 918.423-6865


Pittsburg County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}}

County Information

Pittsburg County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1890 1907 1907 1893

County Courthouse

Pittsburg County Courthouse
115 E Carl Albert Parkway
McAlester, OK 74501
Phone: 918.423-6865

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records;
Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1890;
County Clerk has land records from 1890[1]

History

Parent County

1907--Pittsburg County was created 16 July 1907 from Choctaw Lands.
County seat: McAlester [2]

Description

Its county seat is McAlester. Pittsburg County was formed on July 16, 1907. It is located in the South East part of the state. [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [4]

  • Alderson
  • Ashland
  • Bache
  • Blanco
  • Blocker
  • Bugtussle
  • Canadian
  • Crowder
  • Haileyville
  • Hartshorne
  • Haywood
  • Indianola
  • Kiowa
  • Krebs
  • Longtown
  • McAlester (county seat)
  • Pittsburg
  • Quinton
  • Savanna
  • Ti

Neighboring Counties

Maps

Pittsburg County, OK

Resources

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
Oklahoma Cemeteries WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Oklahoma Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Pittsburg County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

Church

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI
WWII

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

Online Records

School Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Births

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriages

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Deaths

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorces

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Pittsburg County Genealogical and Historical Society
113 E Carl Albert Pkwy
McAlester, OK 74501
Telephone: 918-426-0388
E-mail:choctawnationit@sbcglobal.net
Website


Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • Family History Library Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pittsburg County, Oklahoma. Page 562 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pittsburg_County,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Pittsburg County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pittsburg_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.