Plumas County, California Genealogy
|Plumas County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||March 18, 1854|
|Address|| Plumas County Courthouse|
520 Main Street
Quincy, CA 95971
Phone: 530.283.6218 Plumas County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Church History and Records
- 7 Maps
- 7.1 Migration
- 7.2 Military History and Records
- 7.3 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 7.4 Newspapers
- 7.5 Obituaries
- 7.6 Periodicals
- 7.7 Probate Records
- 7.8 Repositories
- 7.9 Societies
- 7.10 Taxation
- 7.11 Vital Records
- 7.12 Voting Registers
- 8 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 9 Websites
- 10 References
Plumas County, California Record Dates
Plumas County Courthouse
520 Main Street
Quincy, CA 95971
County Clerk has divorce records from 1860; County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and probate records from 1860; County Museum Archives has biographies and photographs
The county was named from the Spanish words for the Feather River (Río de las Plumas), which flows through the county. The county seat Quincy and the county was created 1854. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Plumas County Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Plumas County Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Plumas County Biography Index (CAGenWeb Project)
The following web sites may have additional information on Plumas County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
For tips on accessing Plumas County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Plumas County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
- Plumas County History Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Index to Plumas County Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- The Lassen Cutoff 1848 was established by gold rushers from Oregon going to California. It branched off the Applegate Trail at Davis Creek, went through Devil's Garden to the Pit River passing east of Mt. Lassen, and turning west to Lassen Rancho, California, and from there to Sacramento. In some years as much as 1/3 of emigrants mistakenly took the Applegate Trail-Lassen Cutoff, a much longer and more difficult trail than the Truckee or Carson routes.
- Beckwourth Trail 1850 left the Truckee Trail near present-day Sparks, Nevada going to Oroville and Marysville, California
- Nobles Road 1851 from the Applegate Trail at Rabbithole Springs in the Black Rock Desert of Nevada to Shasta City, California
Military History and Records
- Plumas County Military Records (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1882 - Veterans Of The Mexican War Living In Plumas Co. In 1882 (USGenWeb Archives)
Regiments. Service men in Plumas County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Plumas County, California Genealogy:
- - 1st Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company F
- - 5th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company F
- 1883 - Plumas County List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1886 - Ren Dixon Post No. 122, G. A. R. 1886, Civil War - Rosters (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II
- Index to Plumas County World War II Army Enlistments (USGenWeb Archives)
- Plumas County Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Plumas County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Plumas County Obituary Index (Genealogy Trails)
- Plumas County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- Plumas County Obituary Index (CAGenWeb Project)
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Plumas - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1782 - 1999 - California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1880 - 1919 - Plumas County California list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills - free
- 1833 - 1991 - California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Portola California Family History Center
- Quincy California Family History Center
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
- Plumas County Vital Records (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
- Early Plumas County Birth Notices by year (Genealogy Trails)
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Early Plumas County Marriage Notices by year (Genealogy Trails)
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
- Transcription of Plumas County Great Register of Voters by year (Genealogy Trails)
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
Plumas County Historical Society
P.O. Box 695
- Plumas County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Plumas County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Plumas County, California Genealogy Trails
- Plumas County CA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Plumas County Research, California State Genealogical Alliance
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Plumas County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Plumas County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plumas_County,_California 05/05/2017.
- National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).