Plymouth St Saviour, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Plymouth St Saviour, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Plymouth St Saviour, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Plymouth Incorporation|
|Parish registers: 1871; For more records see Plymouth Holy Trinity|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
PLYMOUTH ST. SAVIOUR - The Church of Saint Saviour was located on Lambhay Hill, The Hoe, Plymouth. It was built in 1870 as a chapel of ease to the Church of the Holy Trinity. It was enlarged in 1883 by the addition of a north aisle when the parish was formed from Holy Trinity. It is a stone building in the Early English style. Consists of chancel, nave, aisles, and a western tower.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Plymouth St Saviour, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Plymouth St Saviour, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Plymouth, but the exact parish has not been identified:
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Moravian/United Brethren
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241332.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Plymouth St Saviour on GENUKI