Pocahontas County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Pocahontas County, Iowa)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Pocahontas County

Guide to Pocahontas County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Pocahontas County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Pocahontas County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Pocahontas
Courthouse


County Information

Pocahontas County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1859 1897 1840 1861 1867

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

1851--Pocahontas County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Conne and Webster Counties prior to organization 11 May 1859. County seat:  Pocahontas [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Fonda | Gilmore City | Havelock | Laurens | Palmer | Plover | Pocahontas | Rolfe | Varina

Neighboring Counties

Buena Vista • Calhoun • Clay • Humboldt • Kossuth • Palo Alto • Sac • Webster

Pocahontas CountyHumboldt CountyWebster CountyCalhoun CountySac CountyBuena Vista CountyClay CountyPalo Alto CountyKossuth CountyWinnebago CountyHancock CountyWright CountyHamilton CountyBoone CountyGreene CountyCarroll CountyCrawford CountyIda CountyCherokee CountyO'Brien CountyOsceola CountyDickinson CountyEmmet CountyIAPocahontas.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran

Gilmore City

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Gilmore City, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Laurens

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Laurens, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Palmer

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Callender, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Pocahontas

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Pocahontas, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Pocahontas County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pocahontas County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Pocahontas - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Pocahontas County/Laurens Genealogical Society
Laurens Public Library
273 N. Third St.
Laurens, Iowa 50554
Website

Pocahontas County Genealogical Society
Attn: Research
14 Second Avenue NW
Pocahontas IA 50574
E-mail: pokypl@ncn.net Research Questions
E-mail: audrey@ncn.net Society Questions
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Pocahontas County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "pocahontas county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "pocahontas county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "pocahontas county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Pocahontas County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Pocahontas County IA at LDS Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Pocahontas County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Pocahontas County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Pocahontas County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Pocahontas County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).