Polk County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Polk County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Polk County

Guide to Polk County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Polk County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Polk County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 30, 1844
County Seat Mena
Courthouse
ArkansasPolkCourthouse.jpg
Address Polk County Courthouse
507 Church Avenue;
Mena, AR 71953
Phone: 501.394.8123

County Courthouse

Polk County Courthouse
507 Church Avenue;
Mena, AR 71953
Phone: 501.394.8123

County Clerk has marriage records from 1885, probate records from 1900 and cemetery records; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, land and court records from 1885 and military records.[1]

Beginning years for Polk County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1881 1914* 1885 1885 1900
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1844--Polk County was created 30 November 1844 from Sevier County.  County seat: Mena [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1883 A courthouse fire destroyed all records prior to 1883, except one probate record dating from September 1876, one county court record dating from July 1876, and one circuit court record dating from February 1877.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Howard  • LeFlore County, Oklahoma  • McCurtain County, Oklahoma  • Montgomery  • Scott  • Sevier  •

Polk CountyScott CountyMontgomery CountyHoward CountySevier CountyPike CountyYell CountySebastian CountyLogan CountyLe Flore CountyMcCurtain CountyGarland CountyHot Spring CountyPerry CountyHempstead CountyClark CountyNevada CountyFranklin CountyLittle River CountyARPolk.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Polk County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Polk County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Polk County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1883-1957 Polk County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1883-1919; Guardian bonds 1883-1921; Probate records 1876-1888; Wills 1901-1957.

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Polk County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Polk County, Arkansas Genealogy:

- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dawson's) (Confederate)
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union) [5] Company E

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Polk County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Polk County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

United States

Societies

Website has a list of Surnames and contacts of researchers and recommended links.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Polk County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Polk County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Polk County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Polk County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Roy Vail, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=800&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Polk County.”
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.