Polk County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Polk County, Iowa)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Polk County

Guide to Polk County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Polk County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Polk County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 13, 1846
County Seat Des Moines
Courthouse
IowaPolkCourthouse.jpg


County Information

Polk County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1846 1880 1840 1846 1846

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

1846--Polk County was created 13 January 1846 from unorganized territory. County seat:  Des Moines

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Boone • Dallas • Jasper • Madison • Marion • Story • Warren

Polk CountyJasper CountyMarion CountyWarren CountyMadison CountyDallas CountyBoone CountyStory CountyMarshall CountyTama CountyPoweshiek CountyMahaska CountyMonroe CountyLucas CountyClarke CountyUnion CountyAdair CountyGuthrie CountyGreene CountyWebster CountyHamilton CountyHardin CountyGrundy CountyIAPolk.JPG

Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

  1. I have photos of all headstones in the Oralabor Cemetery in Ankeny, Polk County, Iowa as of 2008.  If you need one looked up please e-mail me at:E-Mail Me  Please provide a surname, christian name and DOD if you have it.
Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Des Moines

Court

Directories

Fold3.com ($) has Des Moines City Directories 1881-1913 (2 yrs. missing) and miscellaneous years going back to 1866 available online.

  • R.L. Polk & Co.'s Des Moines City and Valley Junction directory for the year commencing December 1st, 1915 Des Moines, Iowa: R.L. Polk & Co., 1915. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • R.L. Polk & Co.'s Des Moines City and Valley Junction directory for the year commencing December 1, 1912 Des Moines, Iowa: R.L. Polk & Co., c1912. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Polk County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Resources and industries of Des Moines and Polk County, Iowa : showing the trade and commerce, railroads, business, manufacturing, mining interests, etc., of Iowa's capital and metropolis, the great railroad center of the Northwest, also containing short sketches of the towns of Polk County. By Joseph P.Bushnell. Des Moines, Iowa : J.P. Bushnell, 1885. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Polk County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Polk County, Iowa Genealogy:


- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company D
- 4th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 10th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies A and K
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies B and K
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies A, B, C and E
- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F
- 10th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
:- 10th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
:- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
:- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company D
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F
:- 4th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Iowa. District Court (Polk County). Naturalization Records, 1907–1927. Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1977. FHL films 1015201–17 item 2.
  • Iowa. District Court. (Polk County). Index to Naturalization, 1852–1884. Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1977. FHL film 1015217 item 1.

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Iowa Genealogical Society
628 E Grand Ave
Des Moines IA 50309-1924
Telephone:515-276-0287
E-mail: igs@iowagenealogy.org
Website

State Historical Society Research Center
600 E Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50319
Telephone:515-281-6200
Website

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material from "polk county" placed in search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
FamilySearch Free Iowa, Polk County Probate Records, 1914-1924; browse images
Sites that search for links pertaining to Polk County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Polk County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Polk County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Polk County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Polk County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992