Polk County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Polk County

Guide to Polk County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

TX ORP.png


Polk County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Polk County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 30 March, 1846
County Seat Livingston
Courthouse
TexasPolkCourthouse.jpg
Address Polk County Courthouse
101 Church Street West

PO Box 2119
Livingston, TX 77351

Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


County Information

County Courthouse

Polk County Courthouse
101 Church Street West
PO Box 2119;
Livingston, TX 77351
Phone: 936.327.6804 

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
cemetery records, marriage, land, probate and court
records from 1846, military discharge records from 1940
and school records 1905-1970; District Clerk has divorce 
records[1]

County Clerk

101 W. Mill Street Ste. 265
Livingston 77351
Phone: 936-327-6805
Fax: 936-327-6874

District Clerk

101 West Mill St. Ste. 216
Livingston 77351
Phone: 936-327-6814

Polk County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1846 1850 1845 1840


History

Parent County

1846--Polk County was created 30 March 1846 from Liberty County.

  • County seat: Livingston [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Angelina  • Hardin  • Liberty  • San Jacinto  • Trinity  • Tyler

Liberty CountySan Jacinto CountyPolk CountyTrinity CountyAngelina CountyTyler CountyHardin CountyTX POLK.JPG
About this image

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
Billion Graves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
Billion Graves (cemetery) TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Abbott Springs - Trevat
Adams-Lott - Near Camden
Alexander - New Willard
Bailey - Swartout
Barfield - Providence area
Beard - Hortense
Bethel - Colita
Beulah - Robinette
Big Sandy - Dallardsville
Bluewater - Segno
Bluff Creek - Soda
Bold Springs - Bold Springs
Bradford - Goodrich
Brown - Livingston
Burch Corrigan - Corrigan
Burroughs - Bold Springs area
Butler - Leggett Area
Calverts - Leggett Area
Camden - Camden
Camp Ruby - (Old Hope) - Camp Ruby
Canon - Barnes Area
Carmona - Carmona
Carr-Jones - Ace
Carrington - Leggett/Seven Oaks
Carrington-Lyle - Seven Oaks
Carriville - Off 190W
Cauffy - Corrigan
Center Grove - Leggett
Colbert - Hwy 59S
James M. Collins - Livingston
Cook Family - Onalaska
Crawford - Near Leggett
Crossroads - (Jones Prairie)
Damascus - Corrigan Area
Darby - Moscow
Darden - (Palestine) - Barnes
Davis At Caney Creek - Caney Creek
Davis - Camden
Davis-Lafayette - Sunflower
Davis, Marion - Old Camp Ruby
De La Fosse - Onalaska
Dickens - Midway Area
Doughty Hill - Near Leggett
Drew-Collins
Fairfield - ENDANGERED - Colita
Family - LOST - Ace on Duke Land
Family Modica Graves - Onalaska
Feagin - Historical Marker - Hortense
Forest Hill - Livingston
Friendship - (Manry Family) - Corrigan
Garner Family - Garner Prairie
Gassiott - East of Leggett
Gay - Camden Area
George - Chambliss Hill
Gordon - Hwy 190W
Grace Hill - Hwy 190W
Greenfield - Livingston
Sam Griffin - Menard Creek
Guiding Star Sanct.Church - Goodrich
Hammond - Corrigan
Harding Family - (Harding Memorial) - Moscow
Havis - Barnes Area
Hensley Family Plot - Sandy Creek
Hicks - (Abell Hill) - Hwy 350N
Hill-Bracewell - (Bracewell) - Soda Area
Hollenburger-Brown ? - (Lost ) - Leggett Area
Holly Grove - Holly Grove
Holshausen-Darby - Historical Marker - Moscow
Hubert - East of Midway
Indian Baptist - (Currie) - Indian Reservation
Indian Family Plots - Indian Reservation
Indian Village - Indian Reservation
Jackson - Midway area
Johnson - Johnson Homesite

Jones-Watts - (See Watts-Jones)
Kibble or Kibbie - New Willard
Kennedy - Corrigan
Kent - South of Moscow
Knox - Wakefield
Lily Island - Camden
Lima - S59
Lyons - Camden
Magnolia - Onalaska
Magnolia Hill - Segno
Mainer - Old Colita
Manning - Near Old Colita
Martin - Bold Springs/Colita Area
Massey - Leggett
Matthews - Midway Area
R. A. McCaghren - (Drew-Collins) - Livingston
Meekins - Moscow
Menard Chapel - (Historical Marker) - Segno
Midway - (Historical Marker) - Dallardsville
Moore - Off 1988 W
Moscow - Moscow
Mt. Rose - Mt. Rose off 1988
Nettles - Nettles Rd. E190
New Hope - West of Goodrich
New Winsor - (New Wensely) - Leggett
No Name - Off Marston Rd.
Nowlin - Barnes Area
Oakdale - (Leggett) - Leggett
Oats - Leggett
Odom Chapel - See Pullen - Barnes Area
Old City - Historical Marker (Founders) - Livingston
Old Darden - Barnes Area
Parrish - Hortense
Patrick - Corrigan Area
Peebles - Providence
Peebles Family Plot - Providence
Peebles OIR - (Israel) - Livingston
Peg Top - Peg Top
Pine Grove - Camden Area
Pine Ridge - Leggett
Pluck Memorial - (Stryker) - Corrigan
Pullen - Camden
Restland Memorial - Goodrich
Rice - Historical Marker - Leggett
Robinett - Onalaska
Rowe - Moscow Area
Saint Andrew - (moved from Tigerville) - Onalaska
School House - (Spring Hill) - Leggett
Shiloah - Moscow
Sikes-Laura - W 190
Simmons - E Dallardsville
Smith Family - W 190
Snell-Read - Corrigan
Stryker - Corrigan Area
Taylor - Moscow
Tigerville - See St Andrews
Towns - Near Colita
J.A.S. Turner - Historical Marker - Midway Area
John T. Turner - (Ballard) - E 190
Union Springs - Corrigan (off Plant Rd)
Usher - Leggett Area
Victory Place - Swartout
Waltrep - Trevat
Washington - Livingston
Watts-Jones - (Jones-Watts) - W of Moscow
West Tempe - W 190
Wheeler - N of Corrigan
Whitehead - Camden
Whiteside - Near Tyler Co. Line
Wilcox - Corrigan
Williford - Old Dallardsville
Winn-Creek - Leggett
Wright - Onalaska
Zimmerman-Singletary - Soda

Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Polk County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txpolk.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War
World War I

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Polk County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records


Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Polk County Heritage Society
120 Mockingbird Lane
Livingston 77351

Polk County Heritage Society
207 N. Beatty St.
Livingston, TX 77351
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • TXGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
  • FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Polk County, Texas. Page 672 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).