Polk County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Polk County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Polk County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Polk County


{{{link}}}


Polk County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 14, 1853
County Seat Balsam Lake
Courthouse
Address Polk County Courthouse
100 Polk County Plaza
Balsam Lake, WI 54810
Phone: 715.485.9926
Polk County Courthouse


WI Polk.png

County Information

Polk County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1855 1860 1853 1855


County Courthouse

Polk County Courthouse
100 Polk County Plaza
Balsam Lake, WI 54810
Phone: 715.485.9926

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1858,
marriage records from 1861, death records
from 1866 and land records;
Clerk of Circuit Courts has divorce and court records;
Registrar in Probate has Probate records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1853--Polk County was created 14 March 1853 from St. Croix County.  County seat: Balsam Lake [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barron  • Burnett  • Chisago County, Minnesota  • Dunn  • St. Croix  • Washington County, Minnesota

WI POLK.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
WITombstone Project
Interment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

POLK COUNTY REGISTER OF DEEDS 100 Polk County Plaza, Suite 160 Balsam Lake, WI 54810

Phone: 715-485-9240 Fax: 715-485-9202

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

  • Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Polk County (USGenWeb Archives)

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Polk County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Polk County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company D
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

University Archives and Area Research Center
170 Chalmer Davee Library
email: archives@uwrf.edu
(715) 425-3567
Fax (715) 425-0609

County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Polk County Historical Society
PO Box 41
Balsam Lake WI 54810-0041
Telephone: 715-268-8375
Website
Facebook

University Archives and Area Research Center
University of Wisconsin - River Falls
Chalmer Davee Library
University of Wisconsin-River Falls
120 Cascade Avenue
River Falls, WI 54022
Telephone: 715/425-3567
Website

Osceola Historical Society
PO Box 342
Osceola, WI 54020
Telephone: 715-294-3530
Website
Facebook

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 Polk county, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002). Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "Handybook" defined multiple times with different content