Poole St James, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Poole, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Poole St James

Guide to Poole St James, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Poole St James, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Poole
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Poole
Registration District Poole
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Poole St Paul beginning 1833
Bishop's Transcripts: 1802; Separate records exist for Poole St Paul beginning 1847
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Canford Magna and Poole
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

Poole.-- municipal borough and parish., seaport and market town, and county in itself, Dorset, on a tongue of land on N. side of Poole harbour, 5 miles (by omnibus) W. of Bournemouth, 30 miles E. of Dorchester, and 118½ miles SW. of London. (Poole St James), 160 acres, (embracing also Hamworthy parish, and Longfleet and Parkstone townships, Canford Magna parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Poole St James, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1538-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1939 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1653-1905 findmypast[6] 1804-1837 findmypast[7] 1730-1901 findmypast[8]
1802-1830
1872-1880
FamilySearch[9] 1810-1848 Ancestry[10] 1872-1880 OnlineParishClerks
1802-1880 Ancestry[11] 1831-1846 FamilySearch[12]
1872-1880 OnlineParishClerks


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241343.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 09 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  7. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  9. Batches C159801, C159803, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Dorset, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 May 2012.
  10. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 15 May 2012.
  11. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 21 May 2012.
  12. Batch M159802, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Dorset, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 May 2012.