Portland St John, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Portland St John, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Portland St John

Guide to Portland St John, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Portland St John, Dorset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isle of Portland Liberty
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Weymouth
Registration District Weymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

PORTLAND (St. George), a parish, constituting the liberty of the Isle of Portland, in the union of Weymouth, Dorchester division of Dorset, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Weymouth. A second church was built in 1840 at Fortune's Well, it is dedicated to St. John. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Portland St John, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1840
1840
1840
Images 1840-1906 Ancestry[2] 1840-1921 Ancestry[3] 1840-1999 Ancestry[4]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241339.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 596-602. Date accessed: 09 July 2013.
  2. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.