Poyntington, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Poyntington, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Somerset ParishesGotoarrow.pngDorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Poyntington

Guide to Poyntington, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Poyntington, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Horethorne
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Sherborne
Registration District Sherborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1618
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Merston
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

POYNTINGTON or POINTINGTON, a parish in the district of Sherborne and county of Somerset; adjacent to Dorset, 2 miles W S W of Milborne-Port railway station, and 3 N N E of Sherborne. Post-town, Sherborne. [1]

POINTINGTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Sherborne, hundred of Horethorne, E. division of Somerset, 2½ miles (N. by E.) from Sherborne.[2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Poyntington, Somerset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
1610-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1899 Ancestry[4] 1813-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1819 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1599-1639 Joiner[7]

Poyntington, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


Poyntington's parish registers are held at the Dorset History Centre.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474598.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 09 July 2103.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 578-586. Date accessed and adapted: 17 April 2013.
  3. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  6. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  7. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  9. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.