Predigern parish, Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Predigern


Guide to Predigern parish, Zurich, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Geography

The parish of Predigern was established in 1614 from the church parish of Grossmünster. Predigern served portions of the city of Zürich, as well as the civil parishes of Fluntern, Oberstrass, Unterstrass, and Wipkingen. Wipkingen was established as an independent church parish in 1865.

History

Surrounding Parishes

Affoltern bei Zürich
Dübendorf
Neumünster
Sankt Peter
Schwamendingen
Wipkingen
Zürich

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

Some censuses are listed under the filial parishes that belonged to Predigern. The following censuses are available for the entire church parish of Predigern:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1637 1185141 1 441
1650 1185145 1 105
1671 1185155 1 269
1682 1185158 2 277

Additionally, census records exist for the following portions of Predigern parish:

For Spanweid:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1646 1185147 2 7
1670 1185155 1 439

For Spital:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1671 1185155 1 379

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland