Presidio County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Presidio County

Guide to Presidio County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

TX ORP.png


Presidio County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Presidio County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 3 January, 1850
County Seat Marfa
Courthouse
TexasPresidioCourthouse.jpg
Address Presidio County Courthouse
PO Box 789
Marfa, TX 79843
Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


County Information

County Courthouse

Presidio County Courthouse
PO Box 789
Marfa, TX 79843
Phone: 915.729.4812 

County and District Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage and land records from 1875, divorce and court records
from 1886, probate records from 1884 and military records from 1944[1]

County and District Clerk

P.O. Box 789
Marfa 79843
Phone: 432-729-3857

Built in 1886, the courthouse at Marfa, Texas is the only courthouse building that has ever served Presidio County.  The Second Empire Style stone and brick building was designed by Alfred Giles and built for a cost of $60,000.  The courthouse dome was restored in 2004.

Presidio County Courthouse
320 N. Highland St.
Marfa, TX 79843
432-729-4670 County Clerk's office
County of Presidio government website

Inventory of records of Presidio County housed in the Presidio County courthouse in Marfa, 1981, describes the records of the County Clerk, District Clerk, Tax Assessor-Collector, Justice of the Peace, Sheriff, County Judge, County Treasurer, and County Surveyor that are available at the courthouse. Read the book on line from the Portal to Texas History.

Presidio County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1875 1860 1876 1875


History

Parent County

1850--Presidio County was created 3 January 1850 from Bexar Land District.

  • County seat: Marfa [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Chinati | Marfa | Plata | Presidio | Redford | Ruidosa | Shafter

Neighboring Counties

Brewster  • Jeff Davis

MexicoMexicoPresidio CountyJeff DavisCountyBrewster CountyTX PRESIDIO.JPG
About this image

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
Billion Graves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
Billion Graves (cemetery) Names in Stone
TXGenWeb Epodunk
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 580
1870 1,636 182.1%
1880 2,873 75.6%
1890 1,698 −40.9%
1900 3,673 116.3%
1910 5,218 42.1%
1920 12,202 133.8%
1930 10,154 −16.8%
1940 10,925 7.6%
1950 7,354 −32.7%
1960 5,460 −25.8%
1970 4,842 −11.3%
1980 5,188 7.1%
1990 6,637 27.9%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.





Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Presidio County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Presidio County History from the "Handbook of Texas Online"
  • 1535-1946 History of Marfa and Presidio County, 1535–1946, 2 vols., Austin: Nortex, 1985. Written by Cecilia Thompson.
  • Gray Ghosts of far west Texas: a history of Confederate veterans and their families who settled in the Texas counties of: Brewster, Jeff Davis, Presidio, Pecos, Reeves, Terrell, 2 volumes. Written by Verna A. Bonner.

Maps

Txpresidio.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Presidio County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Big Bend Genealogical Society
PO Box 1251
Alpine, Texas
79831
Website


Marfa and Presidio County Museum
110 W. San Antonio St
Marfa, TX 79843
Telephone Number: 432-729-4140


Marfa City Municipal Library
115 E Oak St
Marfa, TX 79843
Telephone Number: 432-729-4631

Presidio Library
Oreilly St
Presidio, TX 79845
Telephone Number: 432-229-3317


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Presidio County, Texas. Page 672 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).