Preston, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Preston, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Sculcoates|
|Registration District||Sculcoates; Skirlaugh|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Rural Deanery||South Holderness|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Subdean of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1559.
PRESTON (All Saints), a parish, in an area known as Holderness in the unions of Sculcoates and Skirlaugh, Middle division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York containing the township of Lelley, 7 miles (E. by N.) from Hull. The civil parish is formed by the village of Preston and the hamlet of Salt End. Other places in the parish include: Lelleydale and Lelley. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Preston exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|PRESTON PARISH (1614) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Preston to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Preston page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464221.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 609-616. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.