Preston (near Ledbury), Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Preston (near Ledbury), Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Preston (near Ledbury), Gloucestershire
Preston St John the Baptist Gloucestershire.jpg
Preston St John the Baptist Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dudstone and King's Barton
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Newent
Registration District Newent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1586
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford Post 1541- Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

PRESTON, a parish, in the union of Newent,Lower division of the hundred of Dudstone and King'sBarton, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 3¼ miles (S. W.) from Ledbury. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Preston (near Ledbury), Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[6]
Preston (near Ledbury), Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1587-1812 1587-1812 1587-1753 1587-1753 1587-1812 1587-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1819-1938 1819-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988
DEAN 1665-1952 1665-1983 1665-1988

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288768.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 609-616. Date accessed: 08 January 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016. Described as 'Preston' and 'Preston, near Ledbury.'
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 22 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'