Prince Edward Island, Canada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Canada Gotoarrow.png Prince Edward Island Genealogy

Guide to Prince Edward Island ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records. Including records for King, Prince and Queen counties.

Prince Edward Island Research Topics
Prince Edward Island Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Prince Edward Island Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


Prince Edward Island Information

Prince Edward Island is a province in Canada. The province is made up of the major Prince Edward Island and many small islands.
House of Green Gables

Getting Started

Getting Started with Prince Edward Island

Links to articles on getting started with Prince Edward Island research.


Prince Edward Island Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Prince Edward Island research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Prince Edward Island Map

Map of Prince Edward Island

History

  • The first inhabitants of PEI were the Mi’kmaq. The Mi’kmaq have inhabited the area for the last 2,000 years.
  • The first European to record seeing the Island was Jacques Cartier in the summer of 1534.There were no permanent settlements for almost 200 years after his sighting.
  • Settlement of the Island (then known as as Île St-Jean) began in the 1720's. The colony was French and near what is now Charlottetown. Colonization was slow, with the population in 1748 reaching just over 700. When the British expelled the Acadian inhabitants of Nova Scotia in 1755, the population mushroomed to 4,500 in 1758. The British drove all but a few hundred of the Arcadians out.
  • Under the British rule the name of the Island was changed to the Island of Saint John. Surveyor General Samuel Holland was able to provide detailed maps of the Island by 1765. He divided it into 67 townships of 20,000 acres each. Almost all of these were granted as the result of a lottery held in 1767 to military officers and others to whom the British government owed favors. The proprietors were required to settle their lands to fulfill the terms of their grants, but few made an effort to do so. As a result the Island had vast areas of undeveloped land, yet those who wished to open up farms often had to pay steep rents or purchase fees. Most of the land holders never set foot in the colony.
  • The population grew from just over 4,000 in 1798 to 62,000 around 1850. Although there was an influx of Loyalists after the American Revolution, the majority of the newcomers were from the British Isles. Several large groups were brought from Scotland in the late 1700's and early 1800's by landowners such as Captain John MacDonald and Lord Selkirk, and by 1850 the Irish represented a sizable proportion of the recent immigrants.
  • After 1758 the Island was administered from Nova Scotia and later, in 1763, became part of that province. In 1769 a separate administration was set up complete with governor, lieutenant-governor, council and assembly. In 1799 the name of the colony was changed by the assembly to Prince Edward Island to honor a son of King George III stationed with the army in Halifax at the time.
  • In 1851 responsible government was granted to the colony and the first elected administration under George Coles took office.
  • The enticements offered by the Canadians included an absorption of the colony's debt, year-round communication with the mainland, and the provision of funds with which the colony could buy out the proprietors and end the land question. Although few Islanders displayed much enthusiasm, most accepted the union as a marriage of necessity.
  • The province reached a population level of 109,000 in 1891, but the lure of employment in western and central Canada and in the U.S. led to a drain on the population, which had slipped to 88,000 by the time of the Great Depression. Throughout the first half of the 20th century, the economy of the province was stable, with only slight changes in both farming and fishing — with the notable exception of the fox-farming industry between 1890 and 1939.

[1] [2]

Boundary Changes

Although the boundaries of Prince Edward Island have remained stable the early records will be found in Nova Scotia and France who held those records.

Record Loss

No record loss has been noted.

Counties of Prince Edward Island

Prince County

Populated Places Table
1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Alberton        Link   Link
Baltic         Link   Link
Bedeque         Link   Link
Belmont         Link   Link
Bideford        Link   Link
Birch Hill        Link   Link
Bloomfield        Link   Link
Brae         Link   Link
Brooklyn        Link   Link
Burlington         Link   Link
Burton           Link   Link
Carleton        Link   Link
Cascumpec           Link   Link
Central Lot 16          Link   Link
Conway        Link   Link 
Darnley        Link   Link
Dock Corner        Link   Link
Egmont Bay        Link   Link
Ellerslie        Link   Link
Elmsdale         Link   Link
Fortune Cove        Link   Link
Foxley River        Link   Link
Freeland        Link   Link
Freetown         Link   Link
Glenwood        Link   Link
Grand River         Link   Link
Hamilton        Link   Link
Hill's River        Link   Link
Indian River        Link   Link
Inverness          Link   Link
Kensington        Link   Link
Kinkora         Link   Link
Lot 16            Link
Malpeque         Link   Link
Margate        Link   Link
Mill River East         Link   Link
Miscouche        Link   Link
Montrose         Link   Link
Mount Pleasant         Link   Link
Murray Road         Link   Link
North Bedeque        Link   Link  
North St. Eleanors          Link   Link
North Tryon          Link   Link
Palmer Road           Link   Link
Port Hill         Link   Link
Princetown            Link
Rosebank         Link   Link
Sea View         Link   Link
Sevenmile Bay        Link   Link
Spring Valley        Link   Link
St. Eleanors        Link   Link
Summerside        Link   Link
Tignish         Link   Link
Tyne Valley        Link   Link
Victoria West        Link   Link
Wellington        Link   Link
Woodbrook        Link   Link

Queens County

Populated Places Table
1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Belfast         Link   Link
Belle Creek        Link   Link
Belle River         Link   Link
Brackley         Link   Link
Breadalbane        Link   Link
Brookfield      Link   Link
Brown's Creek        Link   Link
Caledonia         Link   Link
Canoe Cove         Link   Link
Cavendish         Link   Link
Charlottetown           Link   Link
Cherry Valley        Link   Link
Churchill           Link   Link
Clinton          Link   Link
Cornwall        Link   Link 
Corran Ban        Link   Link
Covehead        Link  Link
Crapaud        Link   Link
DeSable        Link   Link
Emerald         Link   Link
Fort Augustus         Link   Link
French River          Link  Link
Harrington        Link   Link
Hartsville         Link   Link
Hope River        Link   Link
Hopefield         Link   Link
Hunter River        Link   Link
Irishtown        Link   Link
Kellys Cross        Link   Link
Long River          Link   Link
Marshfield        Link  Link
Mount Stewart         Link   Link
New London         Link   Link
North Rustico         Link   Link
Orwell        Link   Link
Park Corner         Link   Link
Pownal        Link   Link
Rustico        Link  Link
South Rustico         Link   Link
Springfield         Link  Link
St. Catherines           Link  Link  
Stanhope          Link   Link
Stanley Bridge       Link   Link
Suffolk           Link   Link
Tracadie         Link   Link
Tyrone         Link   Link
Valleyfield         Link   Link
Vernon River         Link   Link
Victoria        Link  Link
Winsloe South        Link   Link
York        Link   Link

Kings County

Populated Places Table
1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Bay Fortune        Link   Link
Brooklyn         Link   Link
Cardigan         Link   Link
East Point         Link   Link
Georgetown        Link   Link
Hopefield        Link   Link
Little Pond        Link   Link
Little Sands        Link   Link
Montague         Link   Link
Morell         Link   Link
Murray Harbour           Link   Link
Murray River        Link   Link
New Perth           Link   Link
Rollo Bay          Link   Link
Souris        Link   Link 
Souris West        Link   Link
St. Charles       Link   Link
St. Georges        Link   Link
St. Peter's Bay        Link   Link
St. Peters         Link   Link
Sturgeon         Link   Link
Valleyfield          Link  Link

Resources

Biographies

The following are in French


Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Prince Edward Island online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print
List of Cemeteries in the County

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

  • 1687–1710 The Loppinot Papers, which are important genealogical abstracts of the earliest notarial records for the province of Acadia: Loppinot, Jean Chrysostome. book 971.5 N38L Includes a surname index.
  • 1793–1934 Court Records, [Charlottetown, P.E.I.]: Microfilmed by the Public Archives of Prince Edward Island films 1630150–51

Directories

Genealogy

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Maps

Military Records

Newspapers and Obituaries

Probate Records

Taxation Records

*1881, 1891 and 1901 tax records are available at Prince Edward Island Public Archives and Record Office. You may search the records by name and date.

Vital Records

Births
Marriages
Divorces
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Websites

Major Repositories

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

 
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Prince_Edward_Island,_Canada_Genealogy&oldid=2846037"